5 Comments

My Take on the Current State of Hip-Hop


All City Chess Club: Lupe, Asher Roth, Wale, Diggy, J.Cole, Charles Hamilton, Pharrell

OK, so this blog isn’t necessarily set up for subjects outside of basketball but I suddenly feel the need to incorporate some of my other random thoughts into this blog as well. So to get this started, I’d like to start out by saying what I’m sure most people already know (at least I’d like to think so) and that would be that music today mainstream music today is terrible. I say only mainstream because I’ve noticed after surfing through the internet over the past couple years that there are definitely a large number of dope artists out there that get no love on the radio.

The music industry is ridiculous. Although it is somewhat also at the fault of the general music fan base as well. Record labels will only sign and put out artists that they think will make them money and right now that’s the artists that with very minimal (if any) lyrical talent. That being said, I give a huge SMH to whoever signed Wacka Flocka and then let him go out and call his album Flockaveli. That’s disrespectful for a terrible artist to name their album after a hip-hop legend. But anyway, aside from the list of other bad lyricists on TV and radio there are plenty of great artists like I said. The only problem is that they don’t make money like the mainstream artists because they don’t have the support and exposure that goes along with a record deal with a key record label. So therefore, they also don’t the exposure they need.

Out of all the rappers out there right now, I’d have to say I have a list of about 5 mainstream artists that I’ll say I can listen to all day.

  1. Kanye West
  2. Lupe Fiasco
  3. Raekwon
  4. Eminem
  5. Drake/B.o.B.

But my list of more “under the radar emcees is much longer. If you find the time just make sure you check out the people on this list.

  • Jay Electronica
  • Curren$y
  • Kooley High
  • Blu
  • Lite (Coolroy)
  • The Cool Kids
  • Skeme
  • Naledge
  • Chip the Ripper
  • Pac Div
  • Charles Hamilton

And that’s just to name a few. I miss the days of hip-hop LPs that were good all the way through; with records that would actually make you stop and think. With rappers like Andre 3000, Black Thought (of The Roots), Wu-Tang Clan, Nas, and Common. But sadly out of that group, only Kanye gets play on the radio and his best songs don’t even get played (the same could be said for Drake too).

But I’m gonna ease off of this topic because I could go on forever. I’ve just had that on my mind for the longest time and I just wanted to put that out there.

5 comments on “My Take on the Current State of Hip-Hop

  1. i feel like i contributed to ur list of under the radar emcees… you should add a couple names to it though, like TiRon, Kendrick Lamar, and XV

    • Yea you put me on to probably half of the people on this list lol. I heard a little bit of Kendrick Lamar but not a lot though. But I’ll have to check those people out at some point.

  2. I definitely agree you on mainstream music today. All the great hip hop artists are the ones who get no love & the MC’s who get no love are the ones who actually put meaning behind their lyrics which also compliments their beats. Mainstream music is bad for your health.

  3. Aw, this was a really good post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to
    produce a good article… but what can I say… I
    procrastinate a lot and never manage to get anything done.

Leave a Reply

